top of page

'Mad Max: Fury Road' named best film of 2015 by The National Board of Review

'The Martian's' Matt Damon named Best Actor of 2015 by National Board of Review on Tuesday, December 1, 2015.

"Mad Max: Fury Road," has been receiving a lot of Oscar buzz despite its early release last May, and winning Best Film of 2015 by The National Board of Review (as released today in a press announcement today), definitely makes the film an early leader for Best Film consideration by the Academy Awards. Winners of the Nation Board of Review are selected by approximately 120 movie fans from New York (who cast their ballots via fax or email). The National Board of Review winners will be honored at a dinner on January 5, 2016, at Cipriani in New York, New York. The evening will be hosted by “Today’s,” Willie Geist.

"The Martian," was honored for Best Director for Ridley Scott, Best Actor for Matt Damon and Best Adapted Screenplay to writer Drew Goddard. Independent film actress Brie Larson won the Best Actress honors for "Room," and is an early contender for an Oscar win. Sylvester Stallone won the Best Supporting Actor Award for returning to the screen as Rocky Balboa in the film "Creed." Stallone is also receiving major Oscar buzz. "Hateful Eight," the western by Quentin Tarantino (which opens on Christmas Day), won Best Original Screenplay for Tarantino and Best Supporting Actress for Jennifer Jason Leigh. Completely shut out of the honors was the independent film "Spotlight," which received top honors at the Gotham Awards and the fan favorite "Star Wars: The Force Awakens."

Here are the full list of winners.

Best Film: “Mad Max: Fury Road” Best Director: Ridley Scott, “The Martian” Best Actor: Matt Damon, “The Martian” Best Actress: Brie Larson, “Room” Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone, “Creed” Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Jason Leigh, “The Hateful Eight” Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, “The Hateful Eight” Best Adapted Screenplay: Drew Goddard, “The Martian” Best Animated Feature: “Inside Out” Breakthrough Performance: Abraham Attah, “Beasts of No Nation” and Jacob Tremblay, “Room” Best Directorial Debut: Jonas Carpignano, “Mediterranea” Best Foreign Language Film: “Son of Saul” Best Documentary: “Amy” William K. Everson Film History Award: Cecilia De Mille Presley Best Ensemble: “The Big Short” Spotlight Award: “Sicario” for outstanding collaborative vision NBR Freedom of Expression Award: “Beasts of No Nation” and “Mustang”

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page