top of page

Palm Springs Film Fest Gala to be Ladies Night as Amy Adams is set to honored with Chairman’s Award

The 28th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival will present Amy Adams with the Chairman’s Award for her performance in “Arrival,” at its annual Film Awards Gala. The Film Awards Gala, hosted by Mary Hart, will be held Monday, January 2 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The Festival runs January 2-16.

This year’s film festival gala is truly going to be a night for the ladies as Nicole Kidman, Ruth Negga, Annette Bening, Emma Stone, Natalie Portman, Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer and Janelle Monáe are all planned to be honored.

“Throughout her career, Amy Adams has continuously challenged herself with complex roles,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “This is reaffirmed in her most recent project, ‘Arrival,’ where she anchors the film with an award-winning performance as a prominent linguist, Dr. Louise Banks, as she attempts to communicate with creatures in one of a dozen spacecrafts that visit Earth. It is our honor to present the Chairman’s Award to Amy Adams.”

Adams received the Spotlight Award in 2009 for her performance in “Doubt,” going on to receive an Academy Award® nomination. She also garnered the Ensemble Performance Award for

“American Hustle” in 2014. Past recipients of the Chairman’s Award include Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Richard Gere, Tom Hanks, Dustin Hoffman, Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon.

When mysterious spacecrafts touch down across the globe, an elite team – led by expert linguist Louise Banks (Amy Adams) – are brought together to investigate. As mankind teeters on the verge of global war, Banks and the team race against time for answers – and to find them, she will take a chance that could threaten her life, and quite possibly humanity. “Arrival,” is directed by Denis Villenueve and stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, Forest Whitaker and Michael Stuhlbarg.

“Arrival received” ten Broadcast Film Critics Association Awards including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actress for Adams. Adams won Best Actress from the National Board of Review, which also selected “Arrival” as one of the top ten films of the year.

Amy Adams is a five-time Academy Award®-nominated and two-time Golden Globe®-winning actress. In addition to “Arrival,” her other films in 2016 were “Nocturnal Animals” and “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.” Her previous film credits include “American Hustle,” “Her,” “The Master,” “The Fighter,” “Big Eyes,” “Julie and Julia,” “Doubt,” “Enchanted,” “Junebug,” “Trouble with the Curve,” “The Muppets,” “Charlie Wilson’s War,” “Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day” and “Catch Me If You Can.” Adams recently wrapped production on “Justice League Part One” and will start production on HBO’s drama series “Sharp Objects.”

Previously announced honorees attending the 2017 Film Awards Gala are Casey Affleck, Tom Hanks, Nicole Kidman, Ruth Negga, the cast of “Hidden Figures” including Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monáe, Kevin Costner and Jim Parsons, and the cast of “La La Land,” including Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling, Annette Bening and director Damien Chazelle.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page